Small Home Control Room

Start your own studio thread here: Goals, plans, layouts, treatment, speakers, questions, queries, comments...
Dmitry S

Small Home Control Room

Postby Dmitry S » Mon, 2020-Nov-02, 00:18

Hello! First of all, I would like to express my gratitude to Stuart for the large amount of useful information. Thank you very much for taking the time to do this. I have been reading this forum for many days and have learned a lot from all of your topics. At the moment I am trying to plan a control room in my house. I would like to ask for advice.

I've been producing music for 20 years, arranging, mixing. I usually work with a loudness level of 75-80 dB SPL. My speakers are Geneleс 1037 and ATC SCM20. The house will be located in the countryside, there are no noisy roads and objects nearby (at the moment :)), very quiet and there are few people around :) I do not need to live record anything, so I do not need significant sound insulation, 40-45 db would be enough for me (however, I may be wrong in my assessment). I want to focus on the sound absorption in the room. I don't need the best control room on Earth, but I would like a decent, acoustically comfortable room to work with.

The control room is planned to be on the side of the house, according to the plan there should have been a garage. Therefore, the room will have three outer walls and one inner wall with the house. The house will be built on a concrete foundation and timber frame technology. Although I can now change the area of ​​the future control room, I would not like to do this for various reasons. I drew the future outlines of the room and the structure of the walls.
Room size and walls plan.jpg