New Studio Build Underway

Document your build here: All about your walls, ceilings, doors, windows, HVAC, and (gasp!) floated floors...
howiedrum

New Studio Build Underway

Postby howiedrum » Mon, 2019-Nov-25, 00:19

Hi Everyone. Thanks to Soundman (Stuart) for starting this forum and for all the information and help he has given me over the last two years! The plot has been cleared, the foundation prepped, and the concrete slab was just poured! The dream of having my own studio is becoming a reality. Below is some information leading up to this post. I will be posting a photo diary documenting the process.

I am a percussionist and music teacher on the north coast of California. Two and a half years ago I began my journey into the world of studio building after reading Rod G’s book. Then I subscribed to a couple of studio building forums and met Stuart online, who set me straight on practically every aspect of studio building.

The space I am having built is a practice/band rehearsal room and a place I can teach one on one and group percussion classes. I am not a recording engineer, nor do I wish to become one. I am interested in composing and arranging and I would like to record my personal projects, but I am not interested in engineering or producing someone else’s project.